Guðmundur "Gummi" Óli Pálmason - Solstafir



* Which 3 album releases did you enjoy the most during 2010?


Momentum (Ice) – Fixation, At Rest (A great psychedelic monster of a metal album)

Anathema (UK) – We’re Here Because We’re Here (For some reason this is probably my most played album of 2010. There’s just something about the album’s melancholic optimism that hits right on target)

Burzum – Belus (What can I say? Burzum is back! I thought this one would be a disappointment, but it’s far from it! This is how black metal should sound, no over production, no fucking grindcore and technical wankery, just atmospheric drone)

I’d also like to mention the Trypticon and Swans albums, it was hard not to put them in the top 3 as well.


* What was your first metal-concert and how old were you?


My first metal concert was an all-day concert in a youth centre when I was 13 (in 1991). Not all the bands were metal, but most of them were. Death metal in face, as there was a big death metal trend in Iceland from 1991-1993. My first big concert was Iron Maiden a year later.

 

* What is your worst and best memory from 2010?


Fuck, that’s a hard one. It seems my life is always a fucking emotional roller-coaster, going up and down all the time. Much of it has to do with girlfriends haha.

But I guess the best thing has been how good the band has been doing, playing festivals such as Roskilde, Wacken, Summer Breeze and Hole in the Sky and a proper tour. 2010 was definitely the best year for Sólstafir so far.


* What would you do if you where invisible for one day?


Hang out in the girls locker room at the gym!


* What is your best purchase during 2010?


The nerd answer: A flatbed Epson V700 film scanner (I’ve got a Nicon superscan 5000 as well, but that one can’t scan 120mm films). Hahaha sorry for the nerdism, but that’s just the honest answer.

As for music: Master’s Hammer – Ritual / Jilemnický Okultista 4x 180grLP.

* What do you like to eat when you are hung over?


A sloppy pizza!


* What is/was your biggest dream?


To live a long, happy fulfilling life and to be able to live off my art (music and photography)

* What was the best concert you saw during 2010?


I saw a few great ones. Living in Icaland I never got to see any of my favourite bands, but in 2010 I saw great concerts by Swans, Autopsy, Cathedral, The Devil’s Blood, Mastodon, Obituary and some more. But the best one was probably Trypticon at Hole in the Sky.


* What are your hobbies beside the music?


Photography and visual art.

* What is your favourite travel destination and why?


The untouched wilderness of Iceland. Because nothing beats the feeling of being alone (or alone with someone) in the middle of nowhere where you can see for miles and miles untouched nature. It’s a feeling you can’t get in many places of the world anymore.

* Every Sunday in the blog i have something called "Sunday Gooseflesh" in which I post a video that gives me the chills
- now it´s your turn to pick a music video that has this effect on you!


Oh that’s a hard one ‘cause I love well done music videos.

Can I name my own Sólstafir video for "She Destroys Again"?

 

(D: Of couse you can, i love the video to :-))

 

Not just for shameless self promotion, but also because I like it? Haha.

Anyway, I could name a handful of videos by Floria Sigismondi, but I think I will

go with Tool’s Stinkfist. Most of their videos are just pure spinechillin’ art.

 



* What’s on the 2011 agenda for your band/bands?


We have a simple plan: Record an album, get it out, tour, world domination!

Now all i need is the URL to your bands!


www.solstafir.net

www.facebook.com/solstafirice

www.myspace.com/solstafir

www.heldriver.com


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0